Thursday, 12 June 2008

John Fuentes

People know that football is better than skateboarding, because:

•It is the sport most followed.
•It is the sport than more fans have.
•There are more stadiums than skating tracks.
•It is the sport more practised.
•The football collect more money than any other sport
•The football is more easy learning than skateboarding
•The football hasn't got limits, you can try do bicycles and another tricks very fascinating which are very difficult.
•The football players are better paid than skaters.
•The television transmits more football matches than skateboard championship.

Monday, 2 June 2008

Kalil Ventura

I think skateboarding is better then football because, skate boarding is much more dinamic than football and it is also much more chalenging, it has a lot of tricks you can learn every day, i think football is not so complicated as skateboarding.

Football is fun to play with your friends sometimes but skate boarding is more of hanging out and pushing your own limits, In football yo can push your own limits but not so much as skateboarding.

In football sometimes you don't continue your hole life because you get opldder and you do other things but In skateboarding It is more of a life style and you continue with it more because It is you, your life, your pashion, these are things that are not realy easy to let go of these are things that youlet go like that but however some people do let it go because it isn't there real pashion.

However i haven't been skating a lot my self this year because i've beeen busy with my school work.

Saturday, 24 May 2008

26th May Debate

This House believes that football is much more fun than skateboarding



John Fuentes, 4th ESO student, will propose
Kalil Ventura, 3rd ESO student, will oppose




Once the debaters post their arguments, we kindly ask you to express your opinion by voting. To vote, post a comment on the Ayes (John) if you agree with the motion or Noes (Kalil) if you disagree with it.

The Winner of the Third Debate Is...

Eleana Da Conceiçao (3rd ESO), proposed El Internado is more exciting than Fisica o Quimica.


Monday, 19 May 2008

Susana Garcia

I think that Fisica o Quimica is better than El internado because Fisica y Quimica shows you different situations boys and girls come across every day.

You can learn lots of things and this is great. You can also see the problems of our society.

I think you might like El Internado the first time you watch but after a while you get tired. It is always the same and you never discover relevant things. In Fisica o Quimica there always appear new things, problems, relationships, drugs and alcohol problems...

Fisica o Quimica is an educational programme but in a way that young people like it, and we also learn about life.

Eleana Da Conceiçao

I think that it’s true, El Internado is better than Fisica o Quimica, and my reasons are:

1. This TV series has a lot of audience, and Antena3 won a prize thanks to the big audience that El Internado has. And why does El Internado have a lot of audience? Because it is very exciting, full of intrigue and love stories. These factors make this TV series very attractive to the audience. This TV series won an Ondas Prize in 2007, 'Fotogramas de Plata' to the best TV actor (Luis Merlo) and best TV actress (Amparó Baró) and 'TP de Oro' in 2007 to the best national TV series.

2. People like intrigue, and this TV series has a lot of intrigue. This makes people want to discover the mysteries of El Internado.

3. The love stories make this TV series more exciting, interesting and entertaining.

4. The story is very entertaining, interesting and I have never seen such an intriguing and exciting plot in a TV series.

5. The actors won prizes because they are very good actors and they make El Internado story more realistic.

6. The realism comes from the fantastic sceneries, actors, clothes, etc.

7. El Internado is so interesting and it is such a hit that they are going to make an Italian version.

When I watch El Internado I like it very much for the former reasons. What do you think about this?

Wednesday, 14 May 2008

14th May Debate (closing on Saturday 24th)

This House believes that 'El Internado' is more exciting than 'Fisica o Quimica'

Eleana Da Conceiçao, 3rd ESO student, will propose
Susana Garcia, 4th ESO student, will oppose





Once the debaters post their arguments, we kindly ask you to express your opinion by voting. To vote, post a comment on the Ayes (Eleana) if you agree with the motion or Noes (Susana) if you disagree with it.

The Winner of the Second Debate Is...

Erik Agujari (3rd ESO), proposed The Premier League is better than the Spanish League.




Congratulations to Victor too for his argument.


Tuesday, 13 May 2008

Erik Agujari

The Premier league is the best. English people invented football. English football is the most exciting. They have a different way of playing football. Their football is very fast. Everyone likes this.

Supporters are very important in English football. They are the best supporters in the world. They always encourage their teams and sing their anthems.

All the players in the world want to be in the Premier League.The famous player Cristiano Ronaldo, considered by many the best player in the world, plays in the Premier League, in Manchester United, and a lot of famous players play in the Premier League and not in the LFP. And that's all, now you decide.

Tuesday, 6 May 2008

Victor Alvarez

Is the professional Spanish football league better than the Premier League?

Yes, of course! Oh my God! You doubted it? The Spanish league is the best in the world.

I will tell you the reasons:
  • The Spanish Leauge is the most watched.
  • It is the most powerful league economically speaking.
  • It has high-quality teams, for example, Barcelona, Madrid, Valencia, Deportivo, Sevilla, Ponferradina...
  • It is the most competitive league in the world, because all the teams have chances to win. That’s why the level between them is not very big. However in the Premier League there is a big difference between the three or four best teams and the others.
  • I think that there is more respect for this sport in the Spanish League.
  • Spanish football is faster, more dynamic, more offensive, more tactical...
  • Spanish supporters and stadiums are better than the Premier ones.
  • Everything is better organised.
  • The best player in the world: Messi, plays in the Spanish league.
  • The Spanish Leauge also has young players with a bright future. However in the Premier many people only want to do business and some players are more into advertising than into football.

Last week I was watching a football match: Manchester United – F.C.Barcelona. In this match F.C.Barcelona was better than Manchester. Barça lost, but I am proud of them, because they played and fought hard to win.

Another example is Getafe, a sensational new team in the Spanish League. They defeated big teams to get where they are now. This is the Spanish league spirit.

I could spend all day giving you reasons why I prefer the Liga to the Premier, but I'll just say that only the Spanish League provides you with real passion and emotion.


And... What do you think now?

Monday, 5 May 2008

5th May Debate

This House believes that the Premier League is now better than the Spanish League

Erik Agujari, 3rd ESO student, will propose

Victor Alvarez, 4th ESO student, will oppose




Once the debaters post their arguments, we kindly ask you to express your opinion by voting. To vote, post a comment on the Ayes (Erik) if you agree with the motion or Noes (Victor) if you disagree with it.

Changes

Dear members and guests,
Due to lack of time, there is going to be only one debate a week.
A member of 3rd ESO and a member of 4th ESO will debate on a statement proposed by the House and the winner will become a semi-finalist.
Rose

Monday, 28 April 2008

The Winners of the First Debates Are...

Naoual Benaabla (3rd ESO), proposed: Books Are Better than Television
Catia Pino (3rd ESO), opposed: Television is Better than Books

******************
Ana Romera (4th ESO), opposed: Television Is Better than Books



Due to the quality of her argument and her writing/debating skills
Rochelyn Sabarillo is also a finalist of this debate.

Monday, 21 April 2008

Ana Romera

I disagree that books are better than television. Television is better because there is an image, a sound, you have it at once, you don’t have to think or make an effort like you do when you are reading... I think it is much more entertaining watching TV than reading a book.

When you are watching TV you also have everything in one “object”. I mean, you can switch to a channel and you have sport, music, a reality show, a series, a contest, films. You have anything you want in a box!!

When you are reading books, do you know what is happening at the moment? No. Do you know if it there has been a murder or a bombing? No. There are lots of things that books don’t offer.

Anyway, both TV and books have pros and cons, so it depends on the place you are and how you feel at that moment.

Rochelyn Sabarillo

I think books are better than TV because with them you can learn a lot of things.
People think that books are boring because they just see letters and more letters, but if you think about it, you can choose what you want to read.

Teens are bored with books because almost all their life they have been sorrounded by books and sometimes not very interesting ones.

Why am I in favour of books? It is easy to undertand. I'm sure if someone asks you what you prefer, you will choose TV because you see a lot of colours, a lot of images.
With books you enter a new world, a world which you can imagine while you are reading.

Perhaps if you are watching a TV series it is more interesting and it keeps the audience amused.
If you see a TV series, you know that it will end maybe in a couple of months and this happens because the lenght of the chapters is only an hour aday, Monday to Friday.

However with books if you start to read one and you realy like it, it will be very difficult for you to stop until you finish it. You can imagine how the characters are like, and you will follow the story more easily because the details are described meticulously and usually the readers feel part of the scenario.

I am sure that a lot of people say that they do not like reading because it is boring, but... Did you try it? If they ask you if have you have read a book outside the school, what will your answer be?

People have different tastes, and authors know that. If you go to a bookshop you cannot say that there is not a book that suits you, because it will not be true. You will find drama, romance, action, intrigue... all kinds of books.

Books have been part of our life since we where little children, and we know that we have learnt a lot with them, but now we can enjoy them too. Maybe now they do not have a lot of drawings, but they can can take us to a world in which, if we want, we can be the main characters and live word to word a story which we would like to live in our real life.

And now... Will you see the books as a way of being able to disconnect from reality?

Càtia Pino

I think that TV is better than books. Why?

TV is like an open book, with different stories in it. Although, while you are having fun knowing this new story, you are also being able to feel that you are in the story and it feels more real than a book, because you can see what's happening and you don't have to imagine.

Likewise, I think that TV is better than a book, because it can show you the same things a book can and even more. For example, a documental tells you lots of information, and sometimes even more than the book, and also shows you images of what the documental is talking about.

TV can show you things that have never been seen before and books usually show you drawings that are not realistic. That makes what would be a boring book or maybe a really long book, a great movie, documental, etc.

Finally, TV is useful for any type of people. The ones that cannot read can watch TV and learn the same things without any dificulty. It also helps people that don't know a language very well, it helps them to have a better pronunciation and learn more things to go through life.

These are the main ideas that make me think that TV is better than books.
And as some people always say: An image is worth more than a hundred words.

******************
(Càtia replies)
When you were a child did you know how to read? No. You started speaking by hearing the pronunciation.

Maybe books show you new words. But TV shows them too and explains their meaning.
And tell me: Why is it so useful to know how to write lots of words if you don’t even know what they mean and when you say them out loud, you don’t even know how to pronounce them?

Of course that if you read books you will improve your reading skills, and if you swim a lot you will improve your swiming skills. You will improve anything just by practicing. And if you watch TV you will be able to improve your speaking and you will also learn new thigs.

I disagree that TV only shows you what they want you to see.
And the question of who shows you that what TV shows you the truth? Well! The images!

Think, when you see a documentary about the body, you see the truth and in a book, the body parts are usually drawings that don’t show you the real parts.

Another example, TV can show you diferent parts of the world every day. Books can, but 2 months later al least!
Think. Life of course is always about learning new things, but I think that we need some fun too. With the TV you can learn, and if you change the channel you will have something new and more fun.

Now we are focusing in the older ones, but what about the little ones?
Do you think that they should read a book when they dont even know how to talk?

In TV they have lots of different programmes that show you how to count, read, think and speak!
That’s why I think that TV is better than books, it’s useful for everyone and you are able to feel different feelings that maybe a book cannot offer you.

Monday, 14 April 2008

Naoual Benaabla

I think books are better than television because they show you the real things. However, in television they only show you the things that they want you to see, so maybe they change the real information for another one and then you don't know what it is. That's why books are more reliable than television.

If you want to learn, learn with books because in them you can always find a lot of reliable information without ornaments.

And if you think that books are boring...Did you try to read any funny comic?? Because they are books too.

*******************
(Naoual replies)
I think that maybe with TV you can have a great time , however , as I said , they only show you what they want you to see.
Maybe in a documentary you learn a lot of things but who told you that that was real?
They can't show you everything and explain you all about it, but in a book they can. They separate the information to make it easy to learn, and although not all the books include images, some of them do.
Likewise if you read a book , you're going to have a broader cultural background, and you'll learn new words. However on TV they always use the same words, and maybe these words are not the best ones you can learn.
If you read books, you will improve your reading skills. As you said, when you watch TV you can practise your pronuntiation , but if you don't know words how are you going to practise their pronunciation?
When you were a child you learned reading books not watching TV. In school you use books to learn and practise what you learned... So there's a reason why we use books and not TV.
What I want to say with my arguments is that you should read more. Maybe now you think that books are very boring but, if you read now, in the future you will have a richer cultural background. You will be a wise person because in the past you read and learned lots of things. Besides your vocabulary will be more extensive.

Thursday, 10 April 2008

10th April, 4th ESO Debate

This House believes that books are better than television

Rochelyn Sabarillo, 4th ESO student, will propose

Ana Romera, 4th ESO student, will oppose






Once the debaters post their arguments, we kindly ask you to express your opinion by voting.
To vote, post a comment on the Ayes (Rochelyn) if you agree with the motion or Noes (Ana) if you disagree with it.

Wednesday, 9 April 2008

10th April, 3rd ESO Debate

This House believes that books are better than television

Naoual Benaabla, 3rd ESO student, will propose
Catia Pino, 3rd ESO student, will oppose







Once the debaters post their arguments, we kindly ask you to express your opinion by voting.
To vote, post a comment on the Ayes (Naoual) if you agree with the motion or Noes (Catia) if you disagree with it.